Three:Thirty Thursdays | Episode Seven – Cake and Cookies

As you all know, I have a huge obsession with chocolate (of the milk chocolate variety of course). I bring this up because Cadence (the main character in my novel) is blessed daily by her mother’s baked goods. Sometimes I feel like I’m going to catch diabetes while I’m writing the story.

As much as I love sweet things, I’m not a fan of cake. I even asked my fiance if I can have my own personal ice cream cake at our wedding this summer. Don’t judge me. That’s obviously what’s going to happen. But cookies are a whole different story. I love cookies so much that I probably even have cookie monster beat… and trust me… he’s insane.

During my college days, I was introduced to the fantasmic, orgasmic invention of the cookie cake.

I really didn’t know how to act

So today, for this episode of Three:Thirty Thursday, I will be sharing a delicious cookie cake recipe with you all. This recipe is provided by Sally’s Baking Addiction. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup (170g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1 cup (200g) light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg + 1 egg yolk*
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups (250g) all-purpose flour (careful not to overmeasure)
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch (aka cornflour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cup (225g) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Milk Chocolate Frosting

  • 1 and 3/4 cups (210g) confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup (32g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup (115g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2 Tablespoons (30ml) heavy cream or half-and-half*
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • salt, to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Spray a 9-inch pie dish or cake pan with nonstick spray. Set aside.

In a large bowl using a hand-held mixer or stand mixer fittedwith paddle attachment, beat the butter for 1 minute on medium speed until completely smooth and creamy. Add the brown sugar and beat on medium speed until creamy, about 1 minute. Mix in egg, egg yolk, and vanilla on medium-high speed until combined. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. On low speed, slowly mix into the wet ingredients until combined. The cookie dough will be quite thick. Add 1 and 1/4 cups chocolate chips and mix for about 5 seconds until evenly disbursed.

Press the cookie dough evenly into the prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the cake is lightly golden brown (could be up to 30 minutes, depending on your oven). You may want to cover the cake loosely with aluminum foil after 15 minutes to avoid heavy browning around the edges. Remove from the oven and set the pan on a wire rack to cool completely. Once cooled, use a sharp knife or metal spatula to loosen the sides of the cookie cake from the pan and transfer to a serving dish. (Or use can serve directly from the pan.)

The chocolate frosting is optional. Instead, decorate with whipped cream or top with vanilla ice cream.

For the optional chocolate frosting: sift together the confectioners’ sugar and cocoa powder to assure there are no lumps. Set aside. With a handheld or stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed until creamy – about 2 minutes. Gradually add the sifted sugar/cocoa powder alternately with the heavy cream and vanilla. Beat on low speed after each addition. Once all added, beat on high speed until creamy and combined for at least 2 minutes. Add a pinch of salt if frosting is too sweet.

Decorate the cooled cookie cake with frosting and remaining 1/4 cup chocolate chips. Depending how much frosting you use, you may have some leftover. I used a Wilton 1M tip. Cookie cake remains fresh covered tightly at room temperature for up to 3 days.

Happy Eating! 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Three:Thirty Thursdays | Episode Seven – Cake and Cookies

  1. Mmmh, cake! Of course you must have ice cream cake on your wedding day, it’s the one day you are allowed to be absolutely and without judgement a “Bridezilla”. I’m copying this recipe to try, my kids will be so happy, thanks for the share. 🙂

  2. Thats so weird. When I married I asked for my cake to be that of ice cream origin. Needless to say I didn’t win but it was aight. I like it though thats why we are compadres.

    • That’s because you weren’t the BRIDE, duh! Lol. Ice cream cake is the bee’s knees though. Especially the cookie crumbles in the middle. Sweet Jesus take the wheel!

  3. Sounds delicious. Can I have whatever cake you don’t want? Preferably chocolate with chocolate frosting? I think your own ice cream cake is PERFECT for your bridal day. Eat it with gusto (but watch your dress!)

  4. OMG, this looks divine…. I may have to go buy a new toaster oven to try this out (ours is currently broken. :P) Also, I love cookies too…. My nickname growing up (before it became a P.C. banned word) was Oreo. Though Snickerdoodle or White chocolate cranberry were my favorite cookies. Also Coconut crunch cookies. Dammit… now I want cookies. 😛 (I also have a weird desire to watch Yakitake! Japan again, even though it has more to do with bread than cookies….)

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

    • Snickerdooles are the best!! The first time I had one was when I was a sophomore in college and I’ve been hooked ever since. Any excuse for me to dunk something in a cup of milk is alright with me!

      Yakitake Japan is a great show !! 🙂

      • Man… now I need to bake snickerdoodles. Or just have breakfast. Maybe breakfast, since I still don’t have an oven, haha.

  5. Pingback: A to Z Challenge Week 1 Round-up! #AtoZChallenge | Authors Without Genres

Leave a Reply

