Misophonia – Selective Sound Sensitivity Syndrome

For as long as I could remember, I’ve always HATED listening to the sound of people chew. Especially with their mouth open.

This would get you punched in the face.

Honestly, I would much rather listen to nails doing figure 8’s on a chalkboard than sit next to someone eating like this. For the longest time, I thought that it was just me. I thought I was the only one who felt so much desperation when people made noises like this.. so much so that I wanted to do ANYTHING in my power to make it stop. There are times when it gets so bad that I have to walk out of the room.

My sister is the one who first told me about the condition known as Misophonia(which literally means the hatred of sound). I don’t hate all sounds though. What I have is known as selective sound sensitivity syndrome or 4S. There are varying degrees of the disorder. I read a case about a young girl that could not be in the same room as her mother because she couldn’t deal with the sound of her mother’s breathing. It got so bad that she would become physically violent in order to get the noise to stop. Thankfully, mine is not that bad. I may want to attack you like a rabid animal. Instead, I will either cover my ears discreetly or just remove myself from your presence entirely until you finish your meal.

13 thoughts on “Misophonia – Selective Sound Sensitivity Syndrome

  1. I don’t like it sometimes when someone is making that smacking sound really loud when eating or chewing gum. Some people don’t like the sound of a rattle in their car, it drives them crazy. Luckily for me I can tune most annoying sounds out. Most … Ha!

    • I can deal with every other sound except the chewing. It’s the sound of the moisture in their mouths that makes me ill. Even when I’m making mac & cheese, I have to wear ear plugs b/c the sound of it is just gross =/

  2. Golly, now I know the word for another ailment I have!! Hub chews loudly (he can’t hear it). It’s just the way his jaws work. I don’t say anything because I don’t want to hurt his feelings, but sometimes I find an excuse to leave the room!
    Other sounds can be almost unbearable for me that don’t seem to even be heard by others. Ackkkk

    • Lol! Oh I won’t! 🙂 I can deal with the sound for maybe like 5 minutes if I take my entire life force and try to focus on something else… other than that, I just have to excuse myself. I wish my friend would take classes from you to learn to not chew like that. Lol.

  3. Lol if that’s the case I recommend you stay FARRRR away from you younger brother. It would be unbearable [(T.T)] hahaha

  4. I’m a sensitive sleeper, so the time that noises bother me the most are when I’m trying to get to sleep. I’ve invested in earplugs which helps me maintain relations and friendships that would otherwise be lost.

Leave a Reply

