Quick Recipe

So, as usual, I missed my Saturday post. I’m just going to own the fact that Saturday is my ultimate fail day. Today, I’ve decided to combine my Q and R posts and give you a tasty recipe. In my novel, the main character’s mother (Lillian Prior) is a mom who loves to cook and bake. Whenever her daughter (Cadence Prior) comes home from school, there is always some form of diabetes-inducing goodness awaiting her. One such treat is chocolate filled strawberries.

Oh yum!

This recipe is courtesy of Lily Shop by Jessica Jane. Enjoy!

Chocolate Filled Strawberries

Ingredients
15-20 strawberries (the larger the better)
1 bag of Milk Chocolate chips (I use the 11.5 oz Guittard milk chocolate chips)

Directions
1. Cut the stems off your clean strawberries and carefully scoop out the top of the berry. The deeper you scoop the more chocolate it will hold. I used large strawberries so I scooped about an inch down.

2. Pour the entire bag of chocolate chips in a glass bowl and heat in the microwave for 30 second intervals. Make sure to take your bowl out every 30 seconds to stir the chips. Continue until all chips are melted.

3. Place your strawberries in an egg carton so they sit straight up. You could also use little Dixie cups. Now you can either spoon your melted chocolate into the berries or use a funnel or piping bag. I used a little baby spoon and it worked fine. Your choice.

4. Place in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes until they harden a bit. Enjoy!

Tip: To keep the chocolate from pouring out of the strawberries while hardening in the fridge, use a CLEAN egg carton or mini muffin tin. This will keep your strawberries sitting upright.

6 thoughts on “Quick Recipe

Leave a Reply

