Three:Thirty Thursdays|Episode Thirteen – Salute

Afternoon folks! Three:Thirty Thursdays has been on a little hiatus, but it’s back in action. I wanted to take this time to dedicate this episode to the ever talented Dr. Maya Angelou. She passed yesterday, May 28, 2014.

The phenomenal woman you see above is one of the main reasons why I became a writer. I’m not just talking about my blog or my novel either. Before I had even given blogging a thought, before I ever started on chapter 1, I was a poet. Poetry is something that has always spoken to me. Half of the things I say in every day conversation are metaphors & similes that most people can’t help but laugh at. Sometimes when I say things, in my head it’s like

but everyone else is all like

My love for poetry really started with the lovely lady pictured above. I remember being in grade school and learning about poetry through her work. Maya Angelou was truly an inspiration. Her legacy is more than just a few clever quotes in a fancy font on a photograph floating through social media sites. Her words held such power that would one day encourage a shy young girl to explore her inner talents and take the stage her sophomore year of college at her first open mic performance.

I am beyond grateful to have been exposed to the beautifully written words that Dr. Angelou had blessed the world with. Though she is no longer with us, the power of her words will continue to live on. I thank her for telling us why the caged bird sings, for reminding us that we are all phenomenal women, and that no matter what trials we may face, we can still rise. Rest in perfect peace Dr. Maya Angelou. May your words continue to grace the lives of others, even in your absence.

One thought on “Three:Thirty Thursdays|Episode Thirteen – Salute

Leave a Reply

